Cardinal Logo

Governor Whitmer Announces 6 Phase MI Safe Start Plan

On Thursday, Governor Gretchen Whitmer detailed the six phases of her MI Safe Start Plan to re-engage Michigan’s economy and relax personal and social restrictions imposed by the pandemic. The governor also announced that Michigan is in phase three under this structure.

The phases of the pandemic include:

UNCONTROLLED GROWTH: The increasing number of new cases every day, overwhelming our health systems.
PERSISTENT SPREAD: We continue to see high case levels with concern about health system capacity.
FLATTENING: The epidemic is no longer increasing and the health-system's capacity is sufficient for current needs.
IMPROVING: Cases, hospitalizations and deaths are clearly declining.
CONTAINING: Continued case and death rate improvements, with outbreaks quickly contained.
POST-PANDEMIC: Community spread not expected to return.
Under this structure, Michigan would need to reach phase five before in-person instruction could resume. Read the full plan for details.

We are currently in Phase 4. (7/7/2020)